BeautyEvidence

Cleansers, charging and cost: three facial cleansing devices

Last checked 2026-09-25.

Per FOREO's manuals, both LUNA 4 models should not be used with clay-based, silicone-based or grainy cleansers, need no replacement brush heads, and should not be used while charging. PMD's page for the Clean Pro RQ states none of these, so for it they are unknown rather than assumed; its price is $143.99 against $99.00 and $168.99 for the two LUNA models on 2026-09-25.

As an Amazon Associate BeautyEvidence earns from qualifying purchases.

FOREO LUNA 4FOREO LUNA 4 goPMD Clean Pro RQ
Cleansers to avoidavoid clay-based, silicone-based or grainy cleansers, exfoliators or scrubsavoid clay-based, silicone-based or grainy cleansers, exfoliators or scrubsnot stated by the maker in the sources read
Time limitno more than 3 minutes at a time or per dayno more than 3 minutes at a time or per daynot stated by the maker in the sources read
Chargingup to 2 hours by USB; dry it completely first and do not use it while chargingup to 2 hours by USB; dry it completely first and do not use it while charging2-3 hours by USB (PMD's FAQ); whether it can be used while charging is not stated
Water100% waterproof; usable in the shower; do not leave it submerged100% waterproof; usable in the shower; do not leave it submergedPMD calls the silicone waterproof and the charging port sealed
Replacement headsno replacement brush heads requiredno replacement brush heads requirednot stated by the maker in the sources read
Warranty2-year limited warranty2-year limited warranty20-year warranty covering manufacturer defects; excludes incorrect voltage and dropped devices (PMD)
Price (Amazon US, 2026-09-25)$168.99$99.00$143.99
SourceFOREO LUNA 4 manualFOREO LUNA 4 go manual (2023-08)PMD Clean Pro RQ product page
BuyAmazon →Amazon →Amazon →

With no replacement heads documented for either LUNA, owning one costs its price; for the PMD, whether its head needs replacing is not stated. PMD's 20-year warranty covers manufacturer defects and excludes drops and incorrect voltage; a longer warranty is not evidence that a device lasts longer or cleans better.

Kinds of claim on this page: app functions, charging, water, cleanser rules and warranty are manufacturer claims, from the manual or maker page linked in each column (read 2026-09-24); prices and sellers are from the Amazon US listings on 2026-09-25. A cell no source settles says unknown (not stated). There is no product evidence about skin results here: nothing was measured or tested.

Head to head: FOREO LUNA 4 vs LUNA 4 go. What needs the app: using a LUNA 4 without the app.