Oral-B Pro 1000 vs Philips Sonicare 4100
Last checked 2026-10-11.
Per the ADA's Seal record for Oral-B Oscillating-Rotating-Pulsating brushes, the Oral-B Pro 1000 carries the ADA Seal; the ADA product search lists no Sonicare toothbrush. Philips states a 14-day battery for the Sonicare 4100; no battery figure was found for the Pro 1000. Both have a pressure sensor and a 2-minute timer with 30-second quadrant alerts, and both makers give a 2-year warranty.
As an Amazon Associate BeautyEvidence earns from qualifying purchases.
Side by side
| Oral-B Pro 1000 | Philips Sonicare 4100 | |
|---|---|---|
| Model | Pro 1000, black; the listing's number 069055125595 is in the Pro1000 product family on Oral-B's own page (Amazon listing text: the Oral-B Pro 1000 Amazon listing (ASIN B01AKGRTUM); manufacturer claim: Oral-B's US page for the Pro 1000 Gum Care) | HX3681/24 (Amazon listing text: the Sonicare 4100 Amazon listing (ASIN B09LD7WRVS)) |
| Brushing action | oscillating-rotating-pulsating (the name of its ADA Seal record) (product evidence: the ADA Seal record for Oral-B Oscillating-Rotating-Pulsating) | sonic (“Advanced Sonic Technology”) (Amazon listing text: the Sonicare 4100 Amazon listing (ASIN B09LD7WRVS)) |
| Modes | 3 cleaning modes on the Amazon listing; the Pro 1000 Gum Care that Oral-B's US store sells has 1 (Amazon listing text: the Oral-B Pro 1000 Amazon listing (ASIN B01AKGRTUM); manufacturer claim: Oral-B's US page for the Pro 1000 Gum Care) | 2 brush settings (listing title) (Amazon listing text: the Sonicare 4100 Amazon listing (ASIN B09LD7WRVS)) |
| Pressure sensor | yes: stops the brush pulsations when you brush too hard (Amazon listing text: the Oral-B Pro 1000 Amazon listing (ASIN B01AKGRTUM)) | yes: it warns you with a pulsing sound and reduces the vibration when you press too hard (manufacturer claim: Philips's US page for HX3681/24) |
| Timer | quadrant timer, an alert every 30 seconds (Amazon listing text: the Oral-B Pro 1000 Amazon listing (ASIN B01AKGRTUM)) | 2-minute SmarTimer and 30-second QuadPacer (manufacturer claim: Philips's US page for HX3681/24) |
| Battery | not stated in the sources read | 14 days (manufacturer claim: Philips's US page for HX3681/24) |
| In the box | not stated in the sources read | handle, 1 C2 Optimal Plaque brush head, USB charger (power adaptor not included) (Amazon listing text: the Sonicare 4100 Amazon listing (ASIN B09LD7WRVS)) |
| Plaque claim on the listing | the listing says: removes up to 100% more plaque than a manual toothbrush (Amazon listing text: the Oral-B Pro 1000 Amazon listing (ASIN B01AKGRTUM)) | the listing says: removes up to 700% better plaque than a manual toothbrush (Amazon listing text: the Sonicare 4100 Amazon listing (ASIN B09LD7WRVS)) |
| ADA Seal | accepted: the Pro 1000 is on the model list of the Oral-B Oscillating-Rotating-Pulsating Seal record (product evidence: the ADA Seal record for Oral-B Oscillating-Rotating-Pulsating) | not listed: a search for “sonicare” finds only the Sonicare Power Flosser from Philips (product evidence: the ADA Seal of Acceptance product search) |
| Warranty | 2 years from the day of purchase (manufacturer claim: Oral-B's US page for the Pro 1000 Gum Care) | 2 year warranty (manufacturer claim: Philips's US page for HX3681/24) |
| Amazon | Amazon → | Amazon → |
Kinds of claim on this page: each cell names its sources and says whether each is product evidence (an FDA or ADA record), a manufacturer claim (the maker's own page or manual) or Amazon listing text, which is the seller's own claim. Every source was read 2026-10-11. A cell that no source read states is marked as not stated.
Each Amazon link goes to the exact model in its column: the Oral-B Pro 1000 (sold and shipped by Amazon.com at a US buy-box read on 2026-10-11); the Philips Sonicare 4100 (sold and shipped by Amazon.com at a US buy-box read on 2026-10-11). No prices are shown: check the retailer for the current price, which can change often in November.
How to read this comparison
The two plaque figures are claims on the Amazon listings, each against a manual toothbrush, from different tests. One cannot be set against the other.
A company must apply for the ADA Seal, so “not listed” does not mean that a brush does not work.
What research says about the technology in general
Yaacob M, Worthington HV, Deacon SA et al. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2014, CD002281: 56 studies, 5,068 participants. Powered brushes reduced plaque 11% at one to three months and 21% after three months, and gingivitis 6% and 11%, compared with manual brushes. The authors rate the evidence as moderate quality and say the long-term benefit is unclear. This review is technology research about the kind of device. It does not test either model on this page.
Does the Oral-B Pro 1000 or the Sonicare 4100 have the ADA Seal?
The Oral-B Pro 1000 does: it is on the model list of the ADA Seal record for Oral-B Oscillating-Rotating-Pulsating brushes. The ADA product search lists no Sonicare toothbrush, only the Sonicare Power Flosser. A company must apply for the Seal, so not listed does not mean a brush does not work.
More in this category: Dyson CameraJet vs Oral-B iO 10 vs Sonicare 9900 Prestige.
We tested nothing. This page compares what the sources named above say about the Oral-B Pro 1000 and Philips Sonicare 4100.