Dyson CameraJet vs Oral-B iO Series 10 vs Sonicare 9900 Prestige
Last checked 2026-10-07.
Per the ADA's Seal of Acceptance product search, only the Oral-B iO Series of these three flagships carries the ADA Seal. Only the Dyson CameraJet has a built-in flosser: a camera finds gaps between teeth and a jet of mouth rinse cleans them. On 2026-10-07, Dyson US did not sell the CameraJet: sales are paused after a jet-tube fault. The Sonicare 9900 Prestige shows missed areas on a mouth map on its handle. The Oral-B iO Series 10 has 7 modes and a colour display. No free independent lab test of any of the three was found.
As an Amazon Associate BeautyEvidence earns from qualifying purchases.
Side by side
| Dyson CameraJet | Oral-B iO Series 10 | Sonicare 9900 Prestige | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Dyson CameraJet electric toothbrush with flosser | Oral-B iO Series 10 | Philips Sonicare DiamondClean 9900 Prestige (Next-Generation, HX9834) |
| Launched | 2026-09-01 | not stated in the sources read | 2026-07-07 (announced) |
| Brushing action | variable sonic oscillation | round brush head with micro-vibrating bristles | sonic, 62,000 bristle movements per minute |
| Modes | 3 cleaning modes (Auto-jet and Brush, Auto-jet only, Brush only) and 3 brush intensities (Gentle, Variable, Deep clean) | 7 modes (Daily Clean, Whiten, Gum Care, Sensitive, Super Sensitive, Intense, Tongue Clean) | 8 modes and 3 intensities |
| Guidance and sensors | a 100,000-pixel camera finds gaps between teeth and a conical jet sprays mouth rinse there; haptic alerts for too much pressure or the wrong technique; MyDyson app | smart pressure sensor (too hard, too soft or right); colour display on the handle; iO Sense charger with a clock and brushing timer | SenseIQ senses pressure, motion and coverage up to 100 times a second and lowers the intensity when you press too hard; a light ring and a 12-segment mouth map on the handle show missed areas |
| Flosser | built in: an anti-gravity tank of 0.67 fl oz (about 19.8 ml), per the Dyson US specifications; the Dyson launch release gives 12.5 ml, so the two Dyson sources do not agree. The tank refills from the dock. | none built in | none built in |
| Battery | up to 10 days (one brushing session and one Brush and Auto-jet session per day, Gentle mode); also stated as 14 complete cleans per charge | not stated in the sources read | not stated in the sources read |
| Charging | USB-C to pogo-pin, through the 3-in-1 dock | magnetic charger; travel charging case in the box | not stated in the sources read |
| Water rating | IPX7 | not stated in the sources read | not stated in the sources read |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty | 2-year coverage for defects | 2-year warranty (banner on the Philips US product page) |
| Maker's plaque claim | Dyson says: removes up to 69% more plaque than market-leading premium electric toothbrushes in hard-to-reach areas, in brush-only Variable mode, in a laboratory test that Dyson cites (the Dyson release calls it external testing); better gum health than a manual toothbrush in a clinical study that Dyson cites, of 204 participants over six weeks | Oral-B says: 100% more plaque removal in 1 week, and 4X more plaque removal along the gumline, against a manual brush (the page names no study) | Philips says: 20x more plaque removal than a manual toothbrush; up to 15x healthier gums in Clean mode in 6 weeks, against a manual toothbrush |
| Independent measured test | none found in free sources | none found in free sources | none found in free sources |
| ADA Seal | not listed | accepted (listed as the Oral-B iO Series) | not listed (the only Philips product listed is the Sonicare Power Flosser) |
| Sources | Dyson US product page (specifications, FAQ and footnotes); Dyson launch release, 2026-09-01 | Oral-B US product page, iO Series 10; ADA Seal product page, Oral-B iO Series | Philips US product page, HX9834/91; Philips launch release, 2026-07-07 |
| Amazon | No Amazon link: Amazon US showed it as currently unavailable on 2026-10-07, while Dyson's sales are paused | No Amazon link: Amazon US showed no buy box for the iO Series 10 on 2026-10-07 | Amazon → |
Kinds of claim on this page: specifications, modes, battery, warranty and plaque figures are manufacturer claims from each maker's own page or release; ADA Seal status is product evidence from the ADA's product search; the Cochrane review is technology research about powered brushes in general, never evidence for one model. All read 2026-10-07. Anything no source states is marked as not stated. No prices are shown: check the retailer for the current price.
The Amazon link goes only to the Sonicare 9900 Prestige (HX9834/91, Silver White, sold and shipped by Amazon.com at a US buy-box read on 2026-10-07). The other brushes have no link, for the reason in their column. The link is to the exact model this page compares.
Can you buy the Dyson CameraJet now?
Not from Dyson US on 2026-10-07: Dyson's US product page shows "Notify me" in place of a buy button. Dyson said one production batch of CameraJet jet tubes had a process issue that created the potential for water seepage, and that this affected the performance of a small number of products. Rejoy Health reports that Dyson told a dental practice that it is not a formal product recall. The US CPSC recall database lists no Dyson toothbrush recall (its one Dyson recall is a 2014 heater). Dyson has not given a date for sales to restart in the sources read. Sources: DentistryIQ, 2026-10-05; Yahoo Tech, 2026-09-30; Rejoy Health, quoting Dyson's statement; CPSC recalls API.
What the plaque figures mean
Each plaque figure on this page is a maker claim. Dyson compares the CameraJet with other premium electric brushes, in a laboratory test that Dyson cites. Philips compares the Sonicare with a manual toothbrush. Oral-B compares the Oral-B iO Series 10 with a manual brush, and its page names no study. The figures use different tests and different comparisons, so one cannot be set against another.
ADA Seal status is from the ADA Seal of Acceptance product search, read 2026-10-07. Searches for "dyson", "philips", "sonicare" and "oral-b io" in the ADA Seal of Acceptance product search. A company must apply for the Seal, so "not listed" does not mean that a brush does not work.
What research says about powered brushes in general
Yaacob M, Worthington HV, Deacon SA et al. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2014, CD002281: 56 trials, 5,068 participants. Powered brushes reduced plaque 11% at one to three months and 21% after three months, and gingivitis 6% and 11%, compared with manual brushes. The authors rate the evidence as moderate quality and say the clinical importance is unclear. This review is about powered brushes as a group. It does not test the three models on this page.
Which heads fit each brush, and when to replace them: electric toothbrush heads.
We tested nothing. This page gives no dental advice. If you have gum disease, braces or dental treatment, ask your dentist which brush suits you.