Braun Silk·expert Pro 5 vs Philips Lumea 9000
Last checked 2026-10-11.
The FDA 510(k) record K190354 names the Braun Silk·expert Pro 5, model 6031. The two Philips Lumea IPL records read (K243453 and K253754) do not name the Lumea 9000 or BRI984 in their text, so neither is matched to this model. Braun's manual says the Pro 5 is for skin tones up to tone 5 on its own chart and for naturally black or brown hair. The Lumea 9000 listing comes with 4 attachments; the Braun listing comes with 2 heads.
As an Amazon Associate BeautyEvidence earns from qualifying purchases.
Side by side
| Braun Silk·expert Pro 5 | Philips Lumea 9000 | |
|---|---|---|
| Model | IPL5137 on the Amazon listing; Braun Type 6031 in its manual (Amazon listing text: the Braun Silk·expert Pro 5 Amazon listing (ASIN B07WYY6KKC); manufacturer claim: Braun's US manual for Type 6031) | BRI984/03 on the Amazon listing and on Philips's page (Amazon listing text: the Philips Lumea 9000 Amazon listing (ASIN B0FGB2NS3C); manufacturer claim: Philips's US page for BRI984/03) |
| FDA 510(k) | K190354, cleared 2019-03-18, names the BRAUN Silk.expert Pro 5, Model 6031 (holder Cyden Limited) (product evidence: FDA 510(k) K190354) | not matched: K243453 (2025-02-10) and K253754 (2025-12-23, the 9900 Pro) are for the Philips Lumea IPL, and their text does not name the 9000 Series or BRI984 (product evidence: FDA 510(k) K243453 (Philips Lumea IPL), FDA 510(k) K253754 (Philips Lumea IPL, 9900 Pro)) |
| Skin tone | “intended for use on light, medium and dark skin tones up to and including skin tone 5” on Braun's chart; “DO NOT use the device if you have very dark skin” (manufacturer claim: Braun's US manual for Type 6031) | not stated in the sources read |
| Hair colour | “intended for use on naturally black or brown hair”; “not recommended for use on red, grey, white or blonde hair” (manufacturer claim: Braun's US manual for Type 6031) | not stated in the sources read |
| Sensors | two Skin Tone Sensors that stop the device if the skin tone is too dark (manufacturer claim: Braun's US manual for Type 6031) | a skin contact sensor, so the device flashes only on the skin; a SmartSkin sensor that suggests an intensity (manufacturer claim: Philips's US page for BRI984/03) |
| Flashes | 400,000 (manufacturer claim: Braun's US manual for Type 6031) | not stated in the sources read |
| In the box | 2 heads and a pouch (listing title) (Amazon listing text: the Braun Silk·expert Pro 5 Amazon listing (ASIN B07WYY6KKC)) | 4 attachments (body, face, bikini, underarms), adapter, cleaning cloth, box (Amazon listing text: the Philips Lumea 9000 Amazon listing (ASIN B0FGB2NS3C)) |
| Warranty | the manual sends you to Braun's US store policy page for terms (manufacturer claim: Braun's US manual for Type 6031) | 2 year warranty (manufacturer claim: Philips's US page for BRI984/03) |
| Amazon | Amazon → | Amazon → |
Kinds of claim on this page: each cell names its sources and says whether each is product evidence (an FDA or ADA record), a manufacturer claim (the maker's own page or manual) or Amazon listing text, which is the seller's own claim. Every source was read 2026-10-11. A cell that no source read states is marked as not stated.
Each Amazon link goes to the exact model in its column: the Braun Silk·expert Pro 5 (sold and shipped by Amazon.com at a US buy-box read on 2026-10-11); the Philips Lumea 9000 (sold and shipped by Amazon.com at a US buy-box read on 2026-10-11). No prices are shown: check the retailer for the current price, which can change often in November.
How to read this comparison
Philips's 510(k) summary for the Lumea IPL in K253754 says that device is for fair up to medium brown skin and naturally dark blond, brown, dark brown and black hair. That record is for the 9900 Pro, not the 9000 Series, so this page does not apply it to BRI984. Philips's BRI984 page and listing read do not state a skin tone or hair colour range, so those cells are blank.
Braun's skin tone 5 is on Braun's own chart, which Braun says does not relate to the Fitzpatrick scale. Do not compare it with another maker's scale.
Is the Braun Silk·expert Pro 5 or the Philips Lumea 9000 FDA cleared?
The FDA 510(k) record K190354 names the Braun Silk·expert Pro 5, model 6031. Philips holds 510(k) records for the Philips Lumea IPL (K243453 and K253754), but the text of those records does not name the Lumea 9000 Series or BRI984, so this page does not match either record to that model.
More in this category: Ulike Air 10 vs Braun Silk·expert Pro 5.
We tested nothing. This page compares what the sources named above say about the Braun Silk·expert Pro 5 and Philips Lumea 9000.